NAFIS, Shabbir Husain

Learn, Develop, Share and Grow – Webjournal

Sunday at Kalyaninagar.

leave a comment »

It has been drizzling in Pune since a couple of days now, and it reminds me of what Pune was 15 years ago – a city which used to be wet most time of the year with a near hill station like weather, when we had first visited the city on our annual school vacation from Kuwait.

Since it was pouring on and off on the weekends too, we decided to seek shelter and get some weekend entertaintment by getting into a shopping mall. We finally zeroed in on Gold AdLabs. Adlabs is a multiplex with a shopping mall and a lot of branded restaurants viz. KFC, Mac, Subway, Baskin Robbins, CCD (Cafe’ Coffee Day) to name a few. We took the Koregaon Park route and got connected to Kalyaninagar via a bridge – a bridge that connects one of the hottest and poshest areas of Pune.

I was kind of shell shocked and surprised to see the development that has happened in this part of the city. For a second I felt as if I was abroad. Kalyaninagar truly is posh, metropolitan and a sure shot upmarket place. It has one of the finest residential apartment projects which comes with a high price (Rs. 3000-3500/sq. ft) tag (for Pune at-least). What got my heart beating were the amount of IT companies and parks that one can see. MPhasis, PTC, Cybage have really huge setups there. And loads of IT parks coming up. This area surely has come up because of the growth in IT. And the residential apartments, IT setups and parks and the shopping malls all blend very well together to give Kalyaninagar that extraordinary look and feel.

What got me excited were ofcourse the IT companies and the setups. My heart started beating fast and my family knew exactly what I was going through yet once again 😉 – The feeling I used to get as a kid when ever I used to see a BMW or a Merc on the road.  However the difference this time I reckon is I can dream and make it happen too – No better time than this !

Written by shabbirhusain

July 24, 2006 at 5:20 am

Posted in General, Pune

Leave a Reply

